Skip to content ↓


Proud to be part of

Early Years Foundation Stage

Our EYFS curriculum is based on the statutory framework for the EYFS. It is designed to be active, hands-on and memorable. The focus is squarely on learning that is enjoyable for all and driven by the interests of the pupils

Learning in this key stage takes place during play and practical activities based on the seven areas of learning and development. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development and personal
  • social and emotional development

Children are also supported in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world; and
  • expressive arts and design.

The children’s year in reception is spent in our foundation stage base consisting of two well-resourced classrooms and a spacious, exciting outdoor area where much of their learning will take place.

You have not allowed cookies and this content may contain cookies.

If you would like to view this content please


We use an online learning journal called Tapestry. Parents/carers are encouraged to sign-up so that they can view and upload their child's experiences and learning.


EYFS long term plan

Below is our long term plan for the EYFS. The plan includes our curriculum intent, how we implement our intent and the impact our curriculum has on our pupils.